Vintage and Autumnal Flowers

Standard

I’ve been busy with my Krafty Florals kit.  The colours felt autumnal to me and were perfect for scrapping these photos I took of the Pagoda Fountain at Alton Towers – especially the kraft card stock printed with garlands of paper lanterns:

DSC_0292

We went for a couple of days in autumn half term in 2012.  I remember visiting on a school trip when there were far less rides than there are now.  At that time the gardens were an important part of the attraction, but they are much less so now that it is a theme park.

The other photo which was perfect for scrapping with tis kit was one taken at my dance school.  Brown was very much ‘in’ when I was at school, as were floral maxi dresses and a gypsy dress with a lace underskirt showing below the hem was the height of fashion!  And the title is from a popular Abba hit from the time.

DSC_0291

I used the doily print pp for the background and an old Shimelle sketch from my Pinterest board. I added some splatters with pink shimmer mist and gold ink.  I would really like to know how to get larger splatters – mine seem to turn out such small dots of colour.

My third page is done and I’ve signed up for the members blog hop at the Counterfeit Challenge Kit – I hope you’ll join us on 24 August.

6 responses »

  1. Wow!…love the layouts but also the memories you brought back with maxi dresses and gypsy skirts!….see you soon! Xx

  2. Ah, the mysteries of successful splattering 🙂 Try searching YouTube? I saw a good one recently. If I can find it again I will link here. See you at the hop!

  3. Maxi dresses were very popular – and are back in fashion. Spattering seems to depend on the ink/paint viscosity as well as height/angle of splattering. But so many people make it look effortless.

  4. Alton Towers! That brings back memories – I remember when it was all about the gardens. Do you remember when they first had the corkscrew ride? We went on it again and again – it felt so foreign! Lovely page with he perfect papers and embellishments! And that background paper from the second page is one of my all time faves – I wonder if I still have some???

Leave a Reply

