Found Art with the CKC Blog Hop

Standard

Welcome – if you’re on the CKC Blog Hop you should have arrived here from Lisa’s blog.  If you didn’t and would like to join, go back to the CKC blog and I’ll see you back here in a mo!

It’s a daunting proposition following Lisa in a blog hop – she’s such a hard act to follow!  But here goes:

The three challenges this month are:

I went with challenge 1.  I know I have some photos somewhere of some amazing sandcastles from a Christmas holiday in Benidorm one year, but I can’t find them anywhere.  Instead I used a photo of Puddle Duck laying on the beach making art from found objects.  We had taken her out of school to help The Grandma and The Grandad celebrate their Golden Wedding Anniversary on a Caribbean Cruise. Her class homework was to create a picture from found natural objects; I’m not sure beach art was quite what her teacher had in mind.

I used a sheet of Memory Box printed kraft card stock from my Krafty Florals kit called ‘Bill of Sale’, which is nearly as old as the photo.  I matted the photo, made a banner from the chipboard pieces and then went to town merrily fussy cutting flowers to add embellishments.  Finally I took inspiration from the second challenge and added some string and torn handmade embossed paper to the embellishment clusters.  And here is the finished article:

DSC_0293

So, happy belated Sandcastle Day to you.  Your next stop on the hop is Leslie, who will have one of her wonderful LOs to share with you.

11 responses »

  1. That is a really super photo with the low down perspective and a great way to interpret the prompt. Those pesky missing photos can be a problem can’t they?!? I love the fussy cutting and I see that we have some papers the same in our kits – good to know how they look fussy cut! This page is a perfect example of old(er) and new(er) products working really well together! And PS: thanks for the sweet words – you got me blushing!

  2. This is such a lovely page! That banner is very cute and you did a wonderful job cutting those flowers – they anchor your embellishment clusters so well. And I hope your daughter’s teacher was impressed – I think beach art was a very creative way to fulfill her assignment.

  3. I love the background paper you chose – I feel like I am sitting in the shade watching her create! The natural elements really support your photo & how cute is she? I guess the creative gene was passed along 🙂

Leave a Reply

