CKC September Blog Hop

Standard

Welcome to September’s CKC blog hop.  You should have arrived here from Susanne.  If you didn’t and would like to join in, hop back to the beginning at the CKC blog and I’ll see you back here in a while.

I signed up for the hop as soon as I saw challenge 1 to use a Shimelle sketch.  I was off to a weekend retreat  with my Counterfeit kit and I have loads of Shimelle’s sketches on my Pinterest board so there was no way that wasn’t going to happen, right? WRONG!

It wasn’t until I remarked that I hadn’t touched my kit that Jemma reminded me that I had signed up for the hop and it was this Saturday!  That gave me less than a week, but no worries I got cracking when I got home on Sunday and I now have not one, but two Shimelle sketches to show you.

I started with this sketch:

My LO was inspired by Diana Waite’s interpretation of the sketch on Shimelle’s blog. Before I went on the retreat I matted 9 photos in a grid – that grid with one of the Polka Dot Party sheets in my kit only needed a little embellishment to complete a page:

dsc_0251

I was quite pleased with how my alpha forgeries turned out.  I started with Amy Tangerine kraft alphas, then added two coats of gesso before finishing off with pearl shimmer embossing powder.
dsc_0253

The edge isn’t perfect but I think it’s good enough.  I made a bit of a mistake when I did the alphas for my next page.  I had already inked and powdered two letters before I realised I’d picked up the wrong powder – clear gloss instead of pearl glimmer.  Take a look: can you tell which ones they are?

dsc_0250

I used this sketch to scrap photos of Puddle Duck at her niece’s 5th birthday party.

So that’s me done for now.  It’s time to bid you a fond farewell and send you on your way to Tina, who is next on the hop.  Hope you’ll be back soon – I have lots more scrappy goodness to share form that retreat (2.5 mini albums, 2 12X12 LOs and 2 pocket pages!)

11 responses »

  1. These are both grand. I love the graphic nature of those horizontal stripes – a perfect complement to your photo collage. And the second one layout exudes pure delight as it is so sweetly scrapped. Excellent scrapbooking!

  2. Great takes on those sketches! I had that same paper in my kit too – I like what you did with it, especially those two little pennants at the top. Your second page has a delightful whimsical feel with the pinwheel and the fun collection of embellishments at the top.

  3. Both layouts are great and the colours from your kit are gorgeous. That first layout is so clean and simple but perfectly balanced and really pretty. The second one appeals with all the layers. Your forgery letters are great and I can’t see which are the “wrong” ones! They all look good to me 🙂

Leave a Reply

