Beware of the Teenager

Standard

Puddle Duck became a teenager last weekend.  I remember the tales of doom recounted by a friend ‘Remember the first episode of Harry Enfield’s teenagers – when the perfectly sweet Kevin turns into a teenage monster on the stroke of midnight?  It’s true.  It happened with mine!’  To be fair Puddle Duck has been exhibiting teenage tendencies for a couple of years and, if anything, she actually seems to be starting to be more grown up lately.

As this milestone approached I realised that I hadn’t scrapped many of her birthdays.  I did pages for her 7th and 8th birthdays and more recently her third.  Her 11th was documented in my 2015 Project Life Light, but that was it; just one third of her birthdays in albums!  I resolved to correct that and here they are:

dsc_0632

This was the start of her first birthday celebrations, taken at nursery.  They used the band from the cake to decorate her hat. Needless to say, cake will be featured a lot in this post – she had three this particular year!

For her second birthday we went to the soft play centre in Elsecar with her friends from nursery and Rattle and Rhymes.  I don’t have many photos and those I do have aren’t good quality, so I compensated with a small photo and busy background:

dsc_0633

By the time she was 3, we had moved from Barnsley to Dudley and she had a Princess Party at Grandma’s house; complete with a fairy tale castle cake.  That was my first and last attempt to make her birthday cake myself!

dsc_0634

Her fourth birthday was at another soft play centre, with friends from nursery and dance class.  The pink phase was well and truly over!

dsc_0636

I used a sketch from January’s challenge on a Facebook group: I love that photo of her.

For her fifth birthday we had a party at home with a few school friends and I have no photos!!! I have very few from her sixth birthday either.  We hired a hall and had a teddy bears picnic with most of her class.  I used this month’s Stuck?! sketch:

dsc_0637

We went back to the same hall for her 7th birthday and had a Pirate Party with the whole class and other friends.  This time I had loads of photos – I asked my good friend Beth to take some for me.  This was the party where she started designing her cakes herself; a treasure chest. And I baked a rum cake for the parents.

CIMG6191

Her eight birthday was a Doctor Who themed sleep over, with themed food and a TARDIS cake;

Oi Spaceman

For her ninth, she went with a Monster High theme and we went ten pin bowling with friends and family.  Isn’t that a fab cake she designed.

dsc_0639

Turning 10 was a big deal ‘I’ll never be a single figure again’ she said. I blogged about it here.  But her party was more low key with a trip to the cinema to see Mr Peabody and Sherman, followed by pizza at Pizza Hut.  This year she insisted on making a cheesecake instead of having birthday cake and we had to get creative with a recipe.

dsc_0640

Her 11th birthday was a Madeline Hatter Tea Party, with all the guests dressed as characters from Ever After High and decorating their own cupcakes.  Another great cake design by Puddle Duck.

dsc_0641

That was the last year at Primary school and the move to Secondary school brought new friends and a more grown up party for her 12th.  A murder mystery luncheon!

dsc_0642

This year we went to Midlands Comic Con.  I’ll be back when I’ve turned this photo into a scrapbook page.  And now that she is 13 and has her own internet identity, maybe it’s time to put away Puddle Duck and welcome Strawberry to the stage.

dsc_0627

3 responses »

  1. Great birthday pages! I’m sure your daughter would appreciate your lovely layouts! Thank you for joining us at Stuck?!Sketches!

Leave a Reply

