You Don’t Know You’re Beautiful

Standard

As soon as I saw the Studio Challenges sketch I knew what papers I wanted to use, but it took me a while to make it work.  Things just weren’t coming together.  I decided early on to flip the Studio Challenge sketch to make sure her face is on the third line.  But the embellishment placement wasn’t working.  And she kept saying “it’s fine – it’s me that’s ugly.  That’s what’s spoiling it.”

It wasn’t that of course.  She’ll always be beautiful to me. She’s smart and she’s witty, loyal and generous and even at this tender age has a very strong moral compass. It turned out that it was the missing title that was the problem.  I didn’t have a title in mind when I started and it was her comments that convinced me that now was the time to use that song title.  She hates One Direction, but it’s the one song of theirs she likes and it’s perfect for her.  As soon as the word Beautiful was there the photo was grounded and the page was balanced at last.

The Papers are Dear Lizzy, Serendipidity.  The sketch is perfect for a 6X6 pad.  I was going to use white card stock for the background, but I also have a part used 12X12 pad from the same collection, so I picked a matching patterned background.  I used a scattering of gems in matching colours and those puffy stickers are from Paperchase.

It’s a bit late for you to join the challenge, but if you have a 6X6 pad to use try out the sketch.  Or there’s a Glitter Girl video on using 6X6 pads.

Back soon with my Counterfeit kit but TTFN.

One response »

  1. It’s sad that she thinks she is ugly. Who told her that? (I know it couldn’t have been family!). She’s got a lovely big smile and shiny eyes – how could she be ugly?

Leave a Reply

