April Two for One

Standard

I got a sneak peak of this month’s Counterfeit Kit on Facebook yesterday – all sunny yellow and red with flowers, birds and hot air balloons.  The full kit reveal wasn’t on the blog when I got up this morning, so I went into my stash store (it’s supposed to be a space to craft but, well that’s another story) and starting going through my papers to select some based on the sneak peak.  And I ended up with two lots of papers for two very different kits!

The Inspiration kit is Cocoa Daisy’s February kit, Ashton Court.  My first kit focuses on the yellow and red with flowers, triangles and spots:

I started with the yellow and white large polka dot from Dear Lizzy Neapolitan and added a couple of florals with red and yellow by American Crafts (the 8X8 may be Pebbles, but I’m not sure I’ve had them so long).  I didn’t have a good bird print in the colour scheme, so I added a matching bird house print and that Basic Grey patterned stripe from their Cupcake collection was a great match.  For the triangles I pulled out an MME paper from the Cut and Paste ‘Presh’ range.  That introduced a little pink into the mix and I pulled out three more papers to complete the paper kit – including a red ombre for a background sheet.  I finished off with some ‘Presh’ brads and an MME Jubilee 6X6 pad – just in case I needed more flowers!  There’s also a sheet of phrases in a graffitti style which I may cut apart to use on pages.

Those four MME sheets are double sided, the B sides (see right) will bring in a bit more red.  I think I’ll call this one ‘Birdhouse’.

My second kit focuses on the hot air balloons.  The first thing I pulled out was a chipboard 12 X 12 sheet from MME’s Now and Then ‘Izzy’ collection, which features a hot air balloon.  Then I grabbed MME’s Jubilee ‘Tangerine’ Collection which has hot air balloons, a floral with yellow and white spots on the reverse and triangles – perfect!

I included the following ‘Tangerine’ papers: Be Daring, Up & Away, Triangle, Charming and Traveller (I already have three of them cut up and forming a starting point in my head!).  I thought I was a bit light on background papers so I pulled a blue polka dot sheet from the aforementioned ‘Izzy’ collection (Smart) and a sheet from another Dear Lizzy pad with a hot air balloon motif.  I then threw in a few embellishments and a 6X6 pad from the MME collections.  I think I’ll call this one ‘Adventure’.

I think those yellow B-sides may make it onto pages but I’m not sure the others fit the kit – we will see.  I’m a little lost on what to do for alphas.  The inspiration kit has multi-coloured alphas and I have nothing in my stash.  I think I’ll just add alphas from my stash to fit the pages I make.

The inspiration kit also had cute puffy stickers and mini alphas, so I’ve included a selection as an add on kit to go with my two main kits:

I think I’m going to have fun with these this month – I wonder which will get used most?

 

 

 

5 responses »

  1. WOW your quick! I was thinking what to add when I seen the sneak peek but didn’t move on it yet. 🙂 Looks like a fun kit and all those puffy stickers you have too 🙂 Swoon on the bird house paper

  2. Hey Julie! So lovely to see you playing along with CKC. Have I missed you somehow (or have you been missing for a little while?) I adore both of these kits, by the way. I love how the same kit inspired them both! x

Leave a Reply

