The Man in The Chair

Standard

It’s not very often I start a page with a specific story to tell, but when my friend told me about her daughter and how much she likes to visit The Grandma’s House the tale was so cute I had to turn it into a page.

It’s not so much that she will ask ‘Are we going to Maureen’s?’ or why she likes to visit, but because she has her own name for The Grandad.  She calls him The Man in The Chair because he always sits in the same spot and rarely moves.  Since they moved the furniture round, that spot is now the end of the settee and if he gets up she jumps into his seat so that he has to go and sit in a chair!

I used my March Counterfeit kit – I think those little pops of blue help to bring out the blue of her eyes.  I managed to squeeze just one more page from the kit, using the final full sheet and remaining scraps.

I used the March Stuck?! sketch and a little inspiration from Beth Moloney’s process video to pull this one together.  The photos are of The Grandma and my Grandad taken at his caravan in Wales.  I know the bottom right photo is a little wonky, but it is stuck down with double sided foam strips and it is impossible to take up to reposition it.  The foam strips were to raise it up so that the tag and its envelope could slip underneath.

I’ve also been working with my April kit.  If you visited my last blog post you may recall that I had already mentally cut and assembled three sheets in my head.  This is how that idea finished up:

We don’t really do daring adventures, so a photo from the Eden Project on our way to the platform above the tropical canopy will have to do.

Once this page was done I decided to have a go at forging some embellishments.  I stamped birds and a hot air balloon onto white card stock and then coloured then using the coloured pencils Strawberry (aka Puddle Duck) bought me for Mothers’ Day.

I think I’ll try with a less textured card next time, although I do quite like the checked effect.  I’ve used them already on another page for the Eden Project album:

It was meant to have a white hand drawn border and white journaling, but my white pen no longer works and that will have to wait until I buy a new one.

5 responses »

  1. Guilietta has the most lovely eyes! You made me smile with the story … And how great that Puddle Duck is adventuring – I especially like the final page with those photos taken from an angle. The patterned blue is a great background colour.

  2. Quick kits, quick pages, I am so impressed. These are wonderful – at this pace you’ll have a very scrappy month.

Leave a Reply

