CKC Challenge 2 – Outdoors

Standard

Hello. With all that’s going on right now I completely forgot that my post was due today (actually yesterday now because I fell asleep writing this). I’ve been working from home since the back end of last week and the long anticipated school closure was announced today. Strawberry is in such a tiz because she knows her GCSEs are cancelled but has no idea what happens next. She finally decided that she has to keep on studying so it will be a weekend planning a new study and revision timetable for the weeks ahead.

Challenge 2 on the CKC blog was to use outdoor photos in anticipation of spring and being able to spend more time outdoors. Hmm – maybe we still can in our own gardens or if we practice social distancing!

I used a sketch and some photos taken at a scrapbook retreat at Woodbrooke in 2019. The weather was lovely and we ate on the terrace and walked in the garden at lunchtime. Strawberry was particularly taken by the swing suspended from one of the trees.

I used the ledger paper from my kit – I hadn’t noticed when I put it in the kit that the lines are red and yellow. My camera hasn’t picked that up but I promise that it’s true.

I used a chase the sun rub on from my kit to go with the outdoor theme of the challenge and the colours in my background. The yellow sunflower paper was a perfect match with Strawberry’s yellow jumper in the photo. Initially I stayed with the embellishments in my kit but I felt it needed more. I picked up an idea from Tara on the CKC Facebook page and added black liquid pearls to the centre of the red flower embellishment. I rooted through an embellishment tub I had on my desk and added a few extra bits. Once the title was on I thought I needed a little wood in the embellishment clusters, so I punched some butterflies from the woodgrain scraps in my kit and added blue liquid pearls. I added my journaling and that was it.

So stay safe my friends. If you’re stuck at home due to the pandemic make the most your time with family, scrap and don’t forget to step outside and feel the fresh air and the sun on your face.

One response »

  1. Ah, happy days in those photos! Remembering them fondly :). Such a pretty treatment with those soft yellows and blue-y greens. Hope you are both staying well …

Leave a comment