Stamped and Handwritten Titles

Standard

IMAG0455
Hello there and welcome to another Technique Tuesday.  I started these posts to get out of a scrapbooking rut and do something different with my LOs.  My titles tend to be stickers – either thickers or a mix of thickers and smaller alphas.  For my LO this week I decided to use a technique I have used before for a LO which was published in Scrap 365 last year (and which I think I first saw Shimelle do).

First I stamped the main words of the title using distress ink, this gives a pale letter.   Then I wrote the other word(s) in a cursive script on top of the main word(s).  This part can be a little intimidating – one slip and you need to completely rethink the title.  It might be worth practicing on some scrap paper if you want to try this but feel a bit nervous about going straight on a page.  After the cursive part of the title is done all that remains is to outline the stamped word(s).

I prefer the black version I did for Scrap 365 to the brown I did for this LO.  I think there isn’t enough contrast between the stamping and the journalling pen.  Maybe a thicker pen would have helped.

Knit One Purl OneThe Grandma found this photo of my cousin’s three children when clearing out the wardrobe which is now in my craft room.  I recognised the boy’s jumper instantly – even though until that moment I had totally forgotten knitting it.  I used to do a lot of knitting – generally when I was watching TV.  I’ve lost count of the number of baby clothes, dolls clothes and toddler’s jumpers I have knitted over the years.  I still have some jumpers and cardigans I knit for myself – although I no longer wear them.

Of course I knit baby clothes for Puddle Duck, but after she was born I started to struggle.  My fingers would go numb before I finished a row on her pram blanket.  I had an over active thyroid gland but even when that was sorted out I still had problems with pins and needles in my fingers.  Eventually I was diagnosed with carpel tunnel syndrome in both wrists.  I’ve had the decompression operation on my right wrist and it has helped a lot – I can at least now drive without the numbness but knitting and crochet (yes, I did that too) are something that I have had to give up.  I still do the odd small item, but I don’t think I’ll be knitting any more jumpers like the one in the photo.

Finding that photo was perfect timing and I will be linking this post with Another Freaking Scrappy Challenge, where this month’s theme is to scrap about your favourite childhood pastimes.

 

6 responses »

  1. How disappointing for, but what sweet memories! I love this design, Julie!! The banners and buttons are a wonderful part of it all – great take on the challenge! Thanks for playing along with Another Freaking Scrappy Challenge – it’s always such a pleasure to have you here!

  2. HAVE YOU thought about re-printing on another piece of paper and adhering on top of any messed up stamping? No one would know and you can change intensity of color if needed, (higher contrast),etc.

Leave a comment