Into the Blue Again

Standard

And I think blue is the right place to start with the inspiration for this page – posted just in time for it still to be Technique Tuesday.

My pages are very often an amalgamation of lots of bits of inspiration gleaned from visiting all those lovely scraptastic blogs out there.  This one started with the latest challenge at Scrap our Stash (something old, something new, something fussy cut and something blue) tucked away in my subconscious mind.  In fact I’d tucked it away so well it took me a while to remember which blog I’d read it on!  I’ve also been liking Sian’s use of two big blocks of pp, like this one.

So lets find a nice woodgrain;  the Heyday collection has a parquet pattern – we used to have a parquet floor in the dining room when I was growing up.  I have some photos of Li’l Bro (aka The Uncle)’s first birthday party taken in that dining room.  And there’s a blue balloon paper in that collection and I could fussy cut the balloons.  But my design only needs one photo and I have seven from his party – what am I going to do with all the others?  Ooooo, what about a vellum envelope? – Miss Smith made some lovely pages recently with envelopes, albeit she used hers to hold extra journalling.

And so a page is born:

Please don’t ask how I made the envelope.  I’m not sure I could explain.  I just took a scrap of vellum and folded it round the stack of photos and cut it until I had my envelope shape.

So I have my old (just about everything on the page), there’s plenty of blue and I have fussy cutting.  The new is the paper clip – I thought it would be cute to have him holding onto the brad balloons.  I only had two blue ones and Puddle Duck selected orange as the colour for the third – just the pop of colour required for me to link up with the NSD challenge 3 at the Counterfeit Kit Club.

DSC_0472

There’s a number there too, so I can link up to the Studio Challenge’s number challenge. I toyed with adding twine to my fussy cut balloons but decided on adding journalling as the balloon stings instead.  So I think this more than qualifies for my belated Technique Tuesday post, don’t you?

Techniques used – fussy cutting, making an envelope for extra photos, stamping on wood and making a design feature out of the journalling.  It sounds too much written down like that.  What do you think?

P.S. I have been dying to use that title for a post ever since I named my blog.

17 responses »

  1. Such awesome ideas on your layout – the journaling, the vellum envelope and the man clip holding the balloons! Great choice of papers too. A wonderful take on the stash challenge, thanks so much for joining in with us at Scrap Our Stash. xx

  2. Yay, great quote!!
    What a fun page you have made with such old photos. Love the “fussy cut” balloons and the fun little paper-clip figure.
    DH bought me a card-making magazine the other day (he comes home with magazines for me & the Boy, just because he thinks we’ll like them). It had one of those creasing boards inside, with markings for making various cards & envelopes. So now I can make envelopes really quickly (if I take the trouble!).
    Very Blue page and good fun too.

  3. Nice page! great job on the balloon! Thank you for playing along with us at Scrap Our Stash! 🙂

  4. Gorgeous page, love the journaling as the balloons string! Thank you so much for playing with us at Scrap Our Stash!

  5. That such a sweet page! Love the balloons! Thanks for playing along with us at Scrap Our Stash!

  6. This is ever so sweet! LOVE the soft palette and precious, PRECIOUS pic! And your journaling strings are such a great idea! Oh, I adore that little guy holding the balloons, too! Just love it all ;). Thanks so much for playing along with us in The Studio!

Leave a comment