March Counterfeit Kit Blog Hop

Standard

Hello fellow scrappy counterfeiters. I was delighted to be asked to join the design team at CKC as guest designer this month and what a lovely bright spring kit Lori has chosen; perfect for brightening up all these wet, grey days we’ve been having.

The month’s kit to copy is Citrus Twist’s February 2020 kit:

And there’s also a Life Crafted kit:

I started with selecting papers. I wanted sketched florals, constellations, hearts, yellow stripes and teal geometrics and I know Maggie Holmes did a sketched bird pattern, but it was this picture which set me to pull out my Heidi Swapp, September Skies Paper pad:

It’s that floral with the bright teal background; September Skies has a paler version. That’s where I started and here’s what I ended up with.

There’s four September Skies papers there; I went for acid green stripe instead of the citrusy yellow and I love the bright floral. The constellation paper is from Dear Lizzy Serendipity; it’s darker than the one in the inspiration kit but not so dark as the one in September Skies. The rest of the papers are American Crafts, except for the journaling paper (MME Cut and Paste) and the chevron which is Pink Paisley. They’re all super old lines.

So what am I missing? Woodgrain, grey script, newsprint, aqua numbers and pink birds. I’m running out of woodgrain and I’ve used my Shimelle wide stripes, so I threw in some scraps. I’ve decided I can omit the word papers and numbers; I think I have enough paper here and enough script style words. I couldn’t find that pink Maggie Holmes bird Paper; I thought I may have donated it when I had a clear out last year, but it turned up after I had finished taking my photographs, so I’ve added it to the kit since.

Then I moved to PL cards. I had a part used September Skies cut apart sheet which gave me a few square cards. I also had three 3X4s left from a Simple Stories cut apart with woodgrain and a green to match the florals, so they went in with some stamps.

Next was alphas. The inspiration kit has script words and tiny alphas. I added plenty of those but I also need larger alphas so I threw in a couple of sets of thinkers (Amy Tangerine multi colours and Pink Fresh navy and gold) and some other alphas in co-ordinating colours.

Next was embellishments and I may have gone to town a little; enamel dots, puffy stars, cardstock stickers, flair, a whole pack of ephemera, puffy sequins and circles, enamel shapes, felt bows, fabric stickers, rub ons and a sticker book.

That Shimelle sticker book has the wrong pink, but it does have navy mini alphas, script words and lots of circles, so it’s in for those. And I have my photos now from Strawberry’s 16th birthday, so that chipboard banner will come in handy.

And here’s the (almost) full kit.

I’ll be back on 4th with my bows forgery, but in the meantime I’ll be stalking the CKC community FB page and the blog sign up sheet to check out your kits.

So now it’s time for you to hop on to the first of the Master Forgers, Cindy.

Counterfeit Kit Challenge – http://counterfeitkitchallenge.blogspot.com/

9 responses »

  1. Oh I like this kit a lot. Well done you! I have been hoarding my September Skies paper, maybe I should get it out and make a kit. Thanks for the inspiration.

  2. Just now getting round to hopping! I love your tweak on the colour scheme & the oodles of embellis. Delighted to have you here with us as Guest Designer this month 🙂

Leave a comment