Farewell to August and Hello September

Standard

CardIt’s that time of year when the heady, sunny days of summer slip into the autumn glow of a new school term. We’ve got everything ready for Puddle Duck going back to school on Thursday and the three days I had booked to take her places with her friends will be spent much more quietly as plans didn’t quite work out.

It’s been a much quieter, less eventful summer for us this year, with a couple of trips to London and a meal out yesterday to celebrate 56 years of wedded bliss with The Grandma and The Grandad. I made them a card using my August Counterfeit kit. That chipboard kit has been in a couple of kits now so it’s good to get it used up at last.

The kit is now about finished with a new LO using the September 1 sketch from Stuck?!

DSC_0228

I fussy cut a big flower cluster to put on top of the circle, instead of smaller clusters around the photo. Then I decided that there wasn’t enough of it showing, so I cut it apart and added additional fussy cut elements.  Here’s the sketch, why don’t you have a go and join in at Stuck?!

Although I say the kit is about done, there’s a mini album part made, but I have a house to get tidied and straightened and a scrapbook weekend away to prepare for.  My September Counterfeit kit is ready to take along:

DSC_0222

Since the sample kit is called Felicity Jane, I’ll call mine Sarah Jane, in honour of the Doctor Who spin off programme which was a favourite of ours and made us happy.  My first thought at seeing the original was ‘Dear Lizzie Neapolitan’ and then I saw some of the Master Forgers’ kits and realised that ‘Polka Dot Party’ had a better aqua than Neapolitan’s green. One collection is white and the other more cream so it will be a challenge to balance those on my pages.

I will add a dipped effect to the alphas as I do the titles – there are a number of different methods on the Counterfit kit blog to provide some guide to the best technique.  I have a lovely ‘colour yourself’ wash tape with flowers and carousel horses to use – I’m excited about trying that out!

I always seem to be running out of background sheets, so I made sure that I had 4 in the kit.  Here are the full sheets with my die cuts out of the packet:

DSC_0224

I used a 6X6 sheet of woodgrain and a Martha Stewart edge punch to counterfeit those strips from the Felicity Jane kit. It’s all looking a bit pastel and there’s a distinct lack of a heart print, but fear not – that is rectified in my add on kit, which has the two B-sides from the main kit and some scraps from past kits:

DSC_0225

I also have some die cuts left from last month and some 3X4 cards to decorate, which aren’t shown. So now I have the choice of soft and restful or bright and bold pages – my perfect kit!  I wonder if I will finally get round to using those paper windmills?

And because I’ll have two whole days of scrapping I will throw in some 6X6 pads and will make some 3X4 cards to go with the kit:

DSC_0226

I have a small scrapbook I bought in Tiger to make an album of this years Summertime Photo Scavenger Hunt and I think these will do nicely for that.  So that’s me done for now.  I’ll get on with sorting and tidying and cleaning and I’ll be back towards the end of the month to share my weekend scrapping.

9 responses »

  1. Love your layout,so adorable. The kit has picked the main ideas out but made it your own.Co incidentally,Archiscraps has windmills as its theme this month so when you use the paper windmills enter my challenge.

  2. Super cute kit and the layout is lovely. Oh the to make an album of this years Summertime Photo Scavenger Hunt sounds like fun 🙂 wish I had the time and the adventures this year to play along, guess there is a few more weeks yet to do it if I can squeeze the time in. But the album idea for it sure does sound like a fun way to show the hunt.

  3. You definitely have a full kit to take away to your scrapbook weekend. I hope that was fun! Great finish off of your August kit as well!

  4. Washi tape to color? with carousel horses??? Major case of stash envy here! Also love that bold b/w patterned paper & the pinwheels. And your layout – cheeky, indeed! Looks like you have been having some fun, with loads more to come with that kit. Can’t wait to see some more 🙂

  5. Ha! Love that photo – cuties!! Great take on the sketch and mix of paper – perfect title for this page
    Thank you for joining us at Stuck?! Sketches! – we’re celebrating all month!

Leave a comment